t: +44 (0) 203 515 5555

Once you have set up online backups, the recovery process is very simple and quick. Proxar IT Support will help you to recover your desired data, whether you accidentally deleted a file or an entire folder, your hard drive broke down or you simply want the previous version of a file. The recovery process can take place from anywhere, at any time. All that you need to do is tell us which files you would like to have recovered, and we'll have them back to you in just a few clicks.

There are various steps that you can take to restore your files, using the Restore Wizard or Restore tab of the Windows 2000 backup utility. Once you have ensured that - if possible - the backup set that you would like to work with has been loaded into the library system, you'll simply need to launch the Restore Wizard and choose the data that you would like to have restored, with the files being organised and displayed by volume in the left view and the right view displaying media sets.

The drives, folders and files that you can restore will have check boxes next to them for you to select. System state data can be restored by selecting the check box for System State. You can restore to the original location, in which case the system state data that you are restoring will replace the current system state. Alternatively, you may opt to restore to an alternative location, in which the registry, Sysvol and system boot files are all that will be restored, as system state data can only be restored on a local system.

You may be restoring Microsoft Exchange, in which case the Microsoft Exchange data that you would like to have restored will need to be selected. The Restoring Microsoft Exchange dialog box will appear before the restore takes place. If you are restoring the Information Store, you will need to provide the UNC name of the Microsoft server that you are attempting to restore, such as \\CorpMail. Select Erase All Existing Data if you would like to restore to a different server, so that all existing data is destroyed and a new Information Store is created.

From here, there will be various default options that you can override if you so wish, simply by clicking Advanced and following a series of subsequent steps. You can choose one of a number of restore locations: Original Location, which involves the data being restored to the folder or files it was in at the time of the last backup; Alternate Location, in which data is restored to a folder designated by you, with the directory structure being preserved; or Single Folder, which involves files being restored to a single folder without the directory structure being preserved. After selecting either of the latter two options, you will need to enter the folder path to use or select it by clicking Browse.

Then, it'll be a matter of determining how you want the files to be restored. Again, there are several options to choose from, with the first being Do Not Replace The Files On My Computer (Recommended), which is the one to opt for if you don't want existing files to be copied over. Alternatively, you could select Replace The File On Disk Only If The File On Disk Is Older, which allows you to replace older files on disk with the backup's newer equivalent files. Finally, you can also choose Always Replace The File On My Computer to ensure the replacement of all files on disk with files from the backup.

There may also be options to restore security and system files, such as Restore Security, which restores security settings for files and folders on NTFS volumes, and Restore Junction Points, Not The Folder And File Data They Reference, which restores network drive mappings but does not restore the actual data to the mapped network drive. This basically means that it restores the folder that references the network drive.

At this point, you will be able to click Next and then Finish to really get the recovery process underway, typing the path and name of the backup set to use if you are prompted to do so. The backup can be cancelled by clicking Cancel in the Operation Status and Restore Progress dialog boxes. On completion of the restore, you will be able to complete the recovery process by clicking Close, while clicking Report will bring you to a backup log that contains information about the restore operation.

You can use our online backup services to get back your files whenever, and indeed wherever you require them. The recovery process is truly rapid and convenient, as part of a service that is designed to minimise any wasted time and energy for your firm's under-pressure professionals. Not only are your files encrypted before they leave your firm's computers, but they are also stored in truly state-of-the-art data centres that benefit from 24 hours a day, 7 days a week security. The quick recovery process, then, is just one major benefit of our highly regarded and cost-effective online backups service, which brings your firm ultimate peace of mind.